Skip to the content

Rita Lorraine Hubbard was awarded the Community History Award for her work uncovering unknown stories of Black East Tennesseans, non-fiction biographies, emphasis on regional history, and the creation of several children’s stories. She is based out of Chattanooga, Tennessee. 

The Museum & Cultural Center at 5ive Points received the Award of Distinction for their “History Happy Hour,” in Cleveland, Tennessee.

The Morgan County Genealogical & Historical Society, Inc. received the Award of Distinction for their efforts in building restoration in Wartburg, Tennessee.

Lynn Fox was posthumously awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for his reenacting efforts, community outreach, and creation of the “Tennesseans for Living History” program. He lived in Clinton, Tennessee.

Ray and Keith McDaniel received a History in the Media Award “for the videocast Hidden History: Stories from the Secret City, a creative approach that has contributed significantly to the understanding and interpretation of Oak Ridge’s history.” That is what was included in the program, and Ray and Keith’s certificates read as follows: “This creative approach to the unique challenges of today is representative of collaboration, tenacity, and a passion for local history. The videocast has contributed significantly to the understanding and interpretation of Oak Ridge history and is an example of excellent community engagement and outreach.”

Karen Peterman received the Teaching Excellence Award for her years of teaching, mentoring, teacher workshops, and tours at Mabry-Hazen House in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Judge David Duggan received the Award of Distinction for his book, Alcoa: A Century in Words and Pictures. He is based in Alcoa, Tennessee.

Joseph Longmire received the Community History Award for oral storytelling, and community engagement in Corryton, Tennessee.

Johnny M. Greer received the Community History Award for founding the Surgoinsville Area Archive & Museum, in Surgoinsville, Tennessee.

John Spratling was awarded the Teaching Excellence Award for his efforts in preservation of local civil rights history in Oak Ridge, Tennessee.